Pioneering Junior Football

We’re a ‘beacon’ League pioneering The FA’s changes to junior football, making it more fun and more competitive in a clam, safe, child-friendly environment. Our Centre concentrates on long-term player development rather than short-term match wins. The faster and further we can develop all players, the better. The FA says: Look after player development and winning will take care of itself.

How do we accelerate player development?

We have Silent Sidelines (clap but don’t shout out) and far less Touchline Coaching so players can make their own decisions. Players get roughly equal time on the pitch and play in a variety of positions quickly building their understanding and experience of the game. All clubs must field Mixed Ability Teams (no old fashioned ’A’ and ‘B’ that hold players back) so every game is more evenly matched and our Power Play rule prevent games becoming too one sided.

All this increases challenge and makes us by far the most competitive junior League around.

The Format

The format is 5v5 to give children more touches of the ball. There are four 1-hour-long sessions, kicking off at: 9am; 10am; 11am; and 12 noon on Saturdays at Cedar Mount School & Armitage

Cedar Mount Centre Director: Elliot Schofield

The Armitage Centre Director: Gareth Thomas

GET READY FOR THE BIGGEST SEASON YET

Upcoming Fixtures

Keep up to date with all of the upcoming fixtures and find out who you are going to face next.

League Rules

Season Calendar

U8’s

Key –

Date

Sessions are on

Date

No Session

Date

Foundation Cup

We play in the rain but sometimes have to cancel sessions due to snow,ice, flooding or storms.

September 2018

Week 1
Sat 8 Sept
Week 2
Sat 15 Sept
Week 3
Sat 22 Sept
Week 4
Sat 29 Sept

October 2018

Week 5
Sat 6 Oct
Week 6
Sat 13 Oct
Sat 20 Oct
Sat 27 Oct

November 2018

Week 7
Sat 3 Nov
Week 8
Sat 10 Nov
Sat 17 Nov
Week 9
Sat 24 Nov

December 2018

Week 10
Sat 1 Dec
Week 11
Sat 8 Dec
Week 12
Sat 15 Dec
Sat 22 Dec
Sat 29 Dec

January 2019

Sat 5 Jan
Week 13
Sat 12 Jan
Week 14 
Sat 19 Jan
Week 15
Sat 26 Jan

February 2019

Week 16
Sat 2 Feb
Week 17
Sat 9 Feb
Sat 16 Feb
Sat 23 Feb

March 2019

Week 18
Sat 2 Mar
Week 19
Sat 9 Mar
Week 20 
Sat 16 Mar
Week 21
Sat 23 Mar
Week 22
Sat 30 Mar

April 2019

Sat 6 Apr
Sat 13 Apr
Sat 20 Apr
Week 23
Sat 27 Apr

May 2019

Week 24
Sat 4 May
Week 25 
Sat 11 May
Week 26
Sat 18 May
OPT OUT
Sat 25 May

June 2019

Sat 1 Jun
Week 27
Sat 8 Jun
Week 28
Sat 15 Jun
Week 29
Sat 22 Jun
Week 30
Sat 29 Jun

Venues

Address

Cedar Mount Academy
Gorton Educational Village
Wembley Road
Gorton
Manchester M18 7WF

A few house rules from our hosts:

  • No metal studs on the pitch
  • Parents not allowed on the playing area
  • Futsal / Soft soled trainers

Address

Armitage Sports Centre
Moseley Road
Fallowfield
Manchester M14 6HE‎

A few house rules from our hosts:

  • No metal studs, blades or flat trainers on the pitch
  • Parents not allowed on the playing area
  • No smoking or chewing gum
  • Futsal / Soft soled trainers

On-site
parking

Hot Food
& Drink

Silent
Sidelines

On-Site
Toilets